Animal Medical Center of Southern California

24/7 General + Emergency Care (310) 575-5656

2340 S. Sepulveda Blvd., Los Angeles, California

Animal Medical Center

We're proud of the high level of service we continually deliver. Our patient's families say it best.

Testimonials.

December 8, 2016

To the Animal Medical Center Team,
    After two phenomenal TPLO surgeries on both of Henry’s hind legs, Dr. Schulman has successfully created my first Bionic Dog!  Thank you Dr. Schulman and the entire staff at The Animal Medical Center for your expertise, hard work and fantastic care! Henry and I are so happy and proud to have you in our lives.
  Sincerely,
  Jennifer and Henry

May 30, 2016

Thank you from Buster’s Family
    For greeting us like old friends every visit.
    For showing love and caring in his treatment.
    For bathing him and pampering him during his monthly “spa days”
  And especially to Dr. Schulman and Dr. Budzinski and the kind techs who aided us yesterday with Buster’s passing. He is over the rainbow bridge now, running and playing and free of pain.
  Thank you from our hearts for loving our dog, a true member of our family, and always treating him like one of yours.
Buster’s Mom and Dad

May 23, 2016

Dear Dr. Schulman,
  Thank you for always being so good to my little girl. You always sent her home happy!
Love You Forever,
  Myette’s Dad

March 21, 2016

Dear Dr. Schulman,
  Thank you so much for saving my life. I couldn’t breathe; I wouldn’t eat; I had no energy; I scared my my mom and dad so bad. They wouldn’t quit hovering over me! Talk about “helicopter parents!” But, they were right to entrust my health and well-being in your tender, loving and spectacularly-capable hands! Mom and Dad want you to kick back and enjoy some of their favorite wines-you’ve earned it!
  With Love and Appreciation,
  Max’s Family

September 21, 2015

Dr. Schulman and Dr. Bianco,

Many thanks for your words of comfort. I am finding it difficult to adjust without my Pooh. I want to express heartfelt thanks for the care she received which I am sure gave her a happy life for 16 years. My deep appreciation to the entire staff.

Sincerely,
Pooh’s Family

September 21, 2015

Dr. Schulman and Dr. Bianco,
Thank you very much for taking care of us!!
Love,
Bosko and Junior

July 24, 2015

Dr. Schulman,
Sophie will be 15 years old in two weeks. She has been doing wonderfully. Surgery subtracted many years for her… She is active, playful, breathes well and can cool herself with normal panting. 
I want to thank you for your skill and caring for this special little chocolate girl!!
Being a physician myself I understand how we are unsung heroes… That said, I did want to acknowledge your enormous impact on Sophie’s quality of life. She is 15 and thriving. I wanted to thank you….

Again, much thanks
Sophie and Her Mother

February 8, 2015

To Dr. Schulman,
I hope all is well with you. I am writing this letter as an expression of my appreciation for your kindness, support, and genuine concern for the well being of my dog, Hershey, and myself on such a difficult day we had to put him down. In your profession, these times must be the hardest part dealing with owners and their pets, especially because they are a very special family member. I appreciate so much how you handled the situation and there is a lot to be said for compassionate beside manner. I was comforted in knowing, as difficult as it is to make that decision, it was the best option for the well being of my dog. As my family goes through the healing process, I felt compelled to tell you that you are in every way doing what you are suppose to do in life and I am grateful that we were under your care. I will miss Hershey tremendously, but I am comforted knowing he is happy now and resting peacefully. Thank you from the bottom of my heart and I hope to see you again one day in the future with a new addition when the time is right!

With kindest personal regards,
Hershey’s Mother

February 17, 2015

To Alan Schulman and staff,
Tovah wanted you to know that she has completely recovered from her parathyroid surgery, and she returned to work at UCLA last Friday just in time to spread some Valentine cheer at Mattel Children’s Hospital. In fact, she was featured on ABC7 News and NBC News. Ever the star!
Love from a grateful patient and her mom!

January 19, 2015

Dear Dr. Schulman, Rashell, William, Heather, Cesar, Raquel, Lauren, Melissa, Christy, Nicole and Shannon        
Thank you for your kind words and card. They meant a lot to me. I especially appreciate all you did for “Precious” and me during that difficult experience. “Precious” truly left paw prints and fond memories on my heart.

With gratitude,
Gwen

December 8, 2014

Dear Staff,
My dog means more to me than anything in this life and you take care of her better than I do and I can tell there’s love in your hearts. She’s scared to death to go in, but always comes out smiling.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Steven & Lucky

October 20,2014

Dear Dr. Schulman,
I want you to know how I appreciate the care you gave to Maya during her final days with that horrible carcinoma. She could not have had a finer and more dedicated doctor. Your kindness was reflected in the members of your medical and office staff who called to keep me informed of her condition.
Needless to say-I miss her dreadfully of all the dogs I have loved and lost, Maya was very special and will never be replaced in my heart.
My renewed thanks to you and your staff.
Sincerely,
Maya’s Family

July 14, 2014

Dear Dr. Schulman and Staff,

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the loving care given to Hershey. You all show in so many ways your love for our four-legged babies and always have the gentle touch of love and kindness for worried mommies and daddies. Dr.Schulman, I am very grateful for the exceptional care given Hershey by the best doctor in the world and your outstanding staff. Everyone always has a happy hello, thoughtful and give kind reassurance. A special thank you to DB and Angie Rodriguez over the years for always being so helpful, patient understanding and caring.

Dr.Schulman, pressing the elevator button to your office calmed my worries as no matter the problem you would know the treatment. reassure me, and Hershey would be given loving care as if he were your own dog. Every day he made me laugh as he never lost his puppy ways and playing the ball even if just sitting on this bed bouncing it to me.  Your treatment of his condition gave Hershey 14+ years to walk and enjoy a happy life with me and I had a piece of mind with his limitations and I thank you.
One day Hershey Angel will send me a a little soul just like him to take care of and I will be aback to see all as there is no other doctor I would trust with my dog.

With kind thoughts, enjoy my “Hershey Chocolate"treats!
Hershey’s Mom

June 20, 2014

Dear Dr. Schulman,
Thank you so much for the care you gave us during Bailey’s life. Mostly for the care you gave us om letting him go. It was a blessing to have you as a veterinarian.
All the best, Bailey’s Family

May 15, 2014

Dear Alan,
I wish to thank you so very much for your kindness, your consistent presence in responding to any and every concern I had about my dog, Amber. To know that the doctor caring for your one’s beloved pet is there for you at all time is a gift that gives one a sense of peace and trust. You’ve given me all the above. Thank you, Alan. You’re a very unique human being.
Sincerely, Amber’s Family

April 21, 2014

Dear Alan,
Just a little note to thank you for all your kindness and caring for our beloved Molly, and for helping us through a very difficult time.
Fondly, Molly’s Family

April 14, 2014

Dear Dr. Schulman,
Again, your staff came through. I had to bring Romi, another of my felines, for emergency care Saturday evening, April 12. Dr. Nagel, Willie and Sarah came through with thorough medical care with CARE. Romi is home thriving.
Another nice gesture was Gina calling me Sunday to ask how Romi was doing. Thank you for hiring a dedicated to animals staff.
Romi’s Family

April 10, 2014

Dr. Schulman and Staff,
We are forever grateful for your excellent care of Charlie. If it weren’t for the expertise of this hospital, we know Charlie wouldn’t be with us.
Danielle, Ed & Charlie

March 29, 2014

Dear Dr. Alan Schulman,
I wanted to take the time to write a personal thank you for letting my dog, “Hershey,” have the opportunity to try the amazing drug Apoquel for his chronic allergies. It was absolutely incredible how quickly it took effect and his scratching incessantly has stopped! I am so grateful to you, especially because you have such a high demand from your patients waiting in line for this drug from Europe. It’s a medical break through as far as I’m concerned and I’m so lucky for Hershey, now he can be comfortable and happy! From the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU!
Kindest personal regards,
Tiffany
P.S. Now I can get a good nights sleep! Yay!

March 1, 2014

Dear Dr. Alan Schulman & Gang,
Thank you for taking such good care of Kooper for all these years. We were blessed to find you guys at the very beginning of Kooper’s life. Wish all of you the best! A big thank you from Kooper. Long may he run…
George & RoseAnn

February 6, 2014

Dear Dr. Schulman,
I just wanted to thank you for writing the letter explaining that Spot’s symptoms are coming from his back rather than his hip. I submitted the letter and the insurance company changed its mind and is paying the bills! I really appreciate your taking the time to write the letter, and even more I appreciate your thoughtful, intelligent, and observant care of my sweet dog.
Thank you, thank you, thank you,
Laura H.

September 24, 2013

Hi Dr. Schulman,
Thank you for remembering Bella’s collapsed trachea situation and refilling her medication. I will be stopping by today to pick it up and also her food you rx since she was a puppy. Her D/D dry venison and D/D duck can. I truly appreciate your very thorough and conservative methods. And your true love and care for our animals.
Gratefully
Christina N.

July 24, 2013

Hi Dr. Schulman,
Just wanted to drop you a quick note. Once again, thanks for taking such good care of Dolly. As with Allstate, We Are In Good Hands, with Dr. Schulman. Will wait for the test results to return. Hope all will be a-okay. Enjoy the game at the Stadium on Tuesday.
Take care & God Bless
Dolly Lana’s Family


Dear Dr. Schulman,
I wanted to take a moment to shoot you an email to thank you for everything you have done for my shepherd Roma. She came in for a second opinion in April for a
ligament tear. You took the time to explain to me about her knee condition, your recommendation and what to expect.

In the end I opted to have the plasma shot along with the knee brace made by OrthoPet, plus a monthly Adequan shot. I chose to opt out from the TPLO surgery for personal reasons. But I wanted to let you know, without a doubt, you would be the ONLY surgeon for my dog ( and the future ones). I feel fortunate I am able to continue her treatment by you and your team.

A month ago you gave Roma a shot of Adequan yourself after you heard about her throwing up incident the same day a technician from her acupuncturist office. He gave the shot on her back. If you might recall, the technician accidentally left the needle on her back during injection. She walked all over the exam room with
the needle still hanging. This might have resulted in her physiological response that night ( violently throwing up). Instead of having a tech do the shot when i took her to see you last month, you did the injection yourself. It was incident-free and no side effects were seen after you did it. Amazing the difference between a great physician and a so so tech!

Today I came in at 9am for her monthly Adequan. Your tech taught me how to give the shot as I must admit I am not good at this and require some hand holding. Though your tech is better than the nightmare person from the other officer, I must admit, she is most definitely NOT you! haha

So from now until next month I will psych myself up and get the courage to do the next injection myself. It makes me feel a little embarrassed you guys didn’t charge me on the tech assistance so I don’t really want to be a freebie- junkie.

In case you were wondering what prompted me to send this email. Well…I know many clients appreciate your help every day and you save many lives. As I see my dog improving every day and her quality of life getting better, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for being a vital part of our lives. I am sure you get tons of ” thank you"s. But it is important to me to personally acknowledge how much you have done for us. Your expertise, your knowledge and most importantly, your kindness have touched the life of my precious girl and I thank you from my heart.
    Roma’s family

June 3, 2013

Dear AMC staff,
Our sweet little Molly passed away two weeks ago at the ripe old age of 17. She had been groomed by you shortly before and looked her most beautiful self in her last few days.  Thank you all for your years of care and love for our beloved Molly.
From Molly’s Family

April 2, 2013

To: Animal Medical Hospital Staff,
Thank you, on behalf of Zero’s family. We were very grateful for all the help and support you have given us and our beloved boy. May God bless each and everyone of you.
Thank you for Everything,
Alex, Patty & Zero

January 9th 2013

Dear Dr. Schulman,
We said goodbye to our beloved Rufus last Thursday.
Your generosity gave us two and a half more years with him and we want you to know how grateful we are.  You made his thyroid surgery affordable for us we will always remember you.  You and your entire staff were incredible!
Rufus was such a kind and loving dog and we will always love him and miss him terribly. Isn’t it amazing how much love these furry little ones bring into our lives and the holes they leave when they depart?
Thank you for all that you are and all that you do!
Rufus’s Loving Family

 

March 1st 2012

Dear Dr. Schulman, Dr. Campbell and all the staff at AMC,
Thank you so much for always taking such good care and having such deep compassion for my sweet boy Rico. He didn’t like coming to your office but I’m sure he knew that he was well taken care of and loved each time he came. Rico’s fun loving comedic presence is greatly missed!
With sincere gratitude,
Rico’s Loving Family

May 8th 2012

Hello AMC Staff,
Thanks to each of you for being so wonderful to “Gompers” during his 2+ week stay at AMC!  He is now being fostered and we’re working hard to find him a forever home (the photo of the 2 of us attached here is from when I dropped him off on Tuesday).

As it turns out, and as many of you at AMC realized, he is the biggest love in the world. As he’s getting known better, the thought is that he might have been a breeding dog vs. a fighting/bait dog so we renamed him from Gompers (the name of the school where he was found in front of) to THE FONZ since he’s a lover not a fighter (and looks like he’s wearing a leather coat!). He will get the support and nurturing he needs now to become someone’s dream pet, and your care of him definitely led him to this place. So thanks so much for the time and attention you all gave to this lovely boy while he was boarded at AMC (and for being so wonderful to me during my calls and visits!). I can’t wait for him to find the life he deserves!

Warmly,
Gompers’ Caretaker

April 26th 2012

Dear Dr.Schulman,
Thank you - once again - for being so wonderful to Austin. In fact, thank you for always being kind, compassionate and so caring to the entire family, Austin, Luci, Payton, Zoe, and Sandi. (And for your patience with me too!!)

I see such a difference in their reactions to visits here at AMCSC than I did when going to other vet hospitals… AND that means the world to me. Also, it means so much to me about how everyone at AMCSC treats them. Thank you!!

Austin will be back in 2 weeks… He has decided to let the professionals remove his stitches this time =)  And then, we will see you a week later, which will be a spa day for them; a complete teeth cleaning, bath, and mani pedis.

Dr. Schulman, once again, I want to thank you for taking care of Austin (the love of my life).

-Austin,  Luci, Payton, Zoe, and Sandi’s Family

March 30, 2012

To William, Vanessa and Staff,
Thank you so much for helping with Zorro and taking my daily phone calls and checking on him. He is living the good life now thanks to all of you!
Thank you!
-Zorro’s Savior

March 30, 2012

Dr. Schulman,
Thank you SO much for saving Zorro!! Words cannot express my appreciation. He is doing very well and the adopters absolutely love him!
-Zorro’s Savior

March 11, 2012

Dr. Schulman,
Last week you performed a splenectomy on our “Hudson.” What was a routine surgical procedure for you was a huge decision for us. Even in the most skilled hands, bad things can happen. We are so glad things went our way.

Our first golden died in front of us of a ruptured spleen; we were helpless and devastated and we felt like we had not known enough and that we had not done enough. We are now encouraging all of our friends with goldens/labs to get an abdominal ultrasound.

“Hudson” has a few more days before her stitches are taken out and she has been a stellar patient. We are forever in your debt.
Our animal compassion cannot live forever, but it is our hope that we have brought some additional time.

Please accept this with our sincerest appreciation.
-Hudson’s Family

March 1st 2012

Animal Medical Center Staff,
We really appreciate your kind thoughts and caring treatment of our big old friend, “River.”  We value your thoughtful card that received from your staff. River’s brother, “Rocket” misses him.
Warmest Regards,
River and Rocket’s Family

February 28th 2012

Dear Dr.Schulman,
I was in with my two chihuahuas last week. I want you to know how much I have thought about our conversation about Marshall’s teeth situation. Originally, I was told that he had two bad teeth from another hospital and I was relieved to know that it wasn’t the case after you examined him. Lately, I haven’t been feeling the candor from other doctors any more. Therefore, I really appreciate your candor and your passion for caring for the pet’s well being. This is how it is supposed to be in which the priority is placed into caring for the pet’s well being as opposed to caring for your (the doctor’s) own well being.

We will always come back to to you for our three dogs and I am sure that we will have more in the future.

Sincerely,
Lotus & Marshall’s Family

February 17, 2012

Dear Dr. Schulman,
We are so fortunate to know you. You are the best vet and a special, terrific man. You have saved our sweet doggies lives, and brought comfort to us. We are forever indebted to you. Thank you. We wish that your every dream comes true. You are our angel. Thank you!
Love, Sharon and Larry

January 30th 2012

Animal Medical Center Staff,
Thanks to everyone at the Animal Medical Center for your warm thoughts on the loss of our dear companion Sushi. He enjoyed a very happy and long (16+ years) life, thanks to the great care he received. When we get another dog, you will be his vet for life as well.
-Sushi’s Family

January 26th 2012

Dear Dr. Schulman,
You saved our beloved Chloe. There are no words to express our gratitude with all our appreciation.
-Chloe Davidman’s Family

January 19th 2012

Animal Medical Center Staff,
We want to express our great appreciation of your kindness during our visit with “Boots.” Thank you to the women at the front desk, vet tech and especially, Dr. Tanaka for their kindness, honesty, and genuine caring. It helped to make a devastating time a little easier. The condolence card was much appreciated, too.
Thank you again!!
Boots’ Family

January 2nd 2012

Dear Dr. Schulman,
I wrote to you with my surrogate Mom as I turned 16 in September 2010. Everyone who meets me says that I’m an even sweeter 17! My mom continues to say the Shema and thanks G-d for more time with me -among other 2 and 4 legged beings she prays for every day (you’re included) and when she lights the Shabbat candles -and G-d has continued blessing us.

My entire family appreciates you and your entire wonderful team who have been caring about me/us, encouraging us, diagnosing, treating and healing me throughout the years. The Animal Medical Center of Southern California is the BEST! You’ll always be my guy!

My mom appreciated the referral in December 2011 for acupuncture and it helped me. As always, my people -especially my mom and dad -learned a lot from my acupuncturist vet -as they have from each of your doctors as well. There were changes in my health this year despite all the quality care I received. In addition, this summer, when I wasn’t getting the treatments I required, I was deteriorating and became very frail.

Everyone who sees me with my tail wagging on my long walks tells me I’m so cute and sweet! I love you most of all for listening, hearing and caring and with you knowledge and expertise, for taking such great care of me all these years.

Love and Licks (I give them out discriminately),
Martini, the Toy Poodle


                                                                                                December 30th 2011

All of you people are the best and the very best in the world. Lucky and I love you all very much!

Lucky’s Family

 

Dear Dr. Schulman                                                                 December 19th 2011

Oliver, our cat has relocated with us to Portland. We will always be grateful for your amazing talent! Oliver’s knees are still going strong. He is 13 years old and our absolute favorite cat.

Many thanks,
Oliver’s Family

 


Dear Dr. Schulman                                                                 December 16th 2011

Thank you one and all for your competent, compassionate, and loving care of our animal friends.

Sincerely,
Dylan, Seve, and Jeter’s Family

 

 

Dear Dr. Schulman                                                                 December 06th 2011

Thank you Dr.Schulman and your wonderful staff for taking such good care of my little boy Toby. Your entire staff is so caring and it helps us feel safe!

Toby’s Family

 


Dear Dr. Schulman                                                                 December 06th 2011

I don’t know how to thank you for all the patience, and good grace you have shown me, in trying to care for “Pepper.”

Pepper’s Family.

 

 

Dear Dr. Schulman                                                                 October 12th 2011

I was in today with my dog “Faith” and I want to tell you something – you’re staff was incredible from the moment I walked in, the girls at the front were so efficient and kind and helpful and wonderful and your doctor on call was efficient and explained everything to me and was kind and did a fabulous job. It was just a wonderful place to be for a situation that wasn’t good at the time and they made it very comfortable and wonderful for me and I just wanted to let you know and if in some way could commend them for the excellent and I mean excellent job they did.  So, thank you very much and once again, happy healthy New Year. 

Faith’s Family

 

 

 

 


Dear Dr. Tanaka and the staff of the Animal Medical Center:      September 12th 2011

It’s been one year since my wife and I brought our Shih-Tzu, Sally, in one night when she was very, very sick.  Doctor Tanaka, in cooperation with another animal care center, diagnosed her as having severe Pyometra.  We were both very worried about losing her at the young age of five, but her performed emergency surgery on her that night and saved her life.  We are very grateful to him and the staff for both their professionalism in her treatment and their compassion in handling myself and my wife during her stay there while she recovered

We think about you and the staff here often Doctor, especially when Sally wakes up next to use in bed in the morning and kisses us all over our face.  She is a joy to have around and we’re so happy that it looks like we’ll still have many more years of her in our life.

Thank you again,
Sally’s Family

 

 

 

Dear Dr. Schulman:                                                      September 8th 2011

I want to thank you for giving my dog Sneaker a successful, liver shunt operation.  I interviewed 3 well known surgeons before I found you.  None of them had done many liver shunt operations but were willing to do the operation. I read reviews that you were one of the top surgeons in California and I knew my dog was safe in your gifted hands.

You also helped me with my dog Charlee.  You refused to give him a liver shunt operation (for he needed one too) for you thought it was too much of a risk in his case.  I am grateful that you cared more about my dog and me then making money on surgery.  You had so much knowledge on how to take care of my dogs even after the operation. 

Also, you gave me a quote for my surgery and my bill was exactly that when I checked out my dog. That was the first for me at an animal hospital, it always was a higher bill.

You also have the best emergency hospital.  I am not writing this to do PR but out of my experience.  I have brought my dog Winter in for eating chocolate and she had immediate care by such a great doctor on your staff.  I brought my other dog Norman in three times for different emergencies in the middle of the night.  Each time I came there, your Doctors took immediate action. They don’t make you sit and wait and discuss the situation for 1/2 hour and do paperwork. Your night Doctor’s only cared to get in action first to help and safe my dog.

I want to thank you for doing an amazing surgery and saving my dogs.  In my job I travel all over the states & the world and never have I found such a competent surgeon and emergency night hospital as your hospital and you!

Thank you again, Susanlinn

 


Dear Dr. Alan                                                                       August 22nd 2011

Buddy and I want to thank you for your kindness that you always how to us. Your office is always clean and organized, and the staff is always so friendly; that is why we recommend you to anyone who needs a veterinarian. It is hard in this day and age to find someone who is as professional as you are. We really appreciate your thoughtfulness.

Fondly,
—Buddy’s Family

 

 

 

Dear Dr. Schulman                                                                 August 19th 2011

Thank you for caring about animals so much and thank you especially for taking such good care of Sophie & Lexi. I really appreciate what you do.

Love,
—Stockman Family

 

                                                                                                  August 13th 2011

To whom my dad took me, after that awful car mangled my leg and hip, who brilliantly rebuilt those tiny fragile bones, which no doc in the Valley dared try: You did a great job!! I was my usual impetuous self within a month or two. Thank you, Dr. Schulman—you were wonderful.

—Tuxeda aka “Missie”

 

 

Dear Dr. Schulman                                                                 August 12th 2011

My friend brought my “Lorraine” to you yesterday and I simply wish to express my gratitude for the accurate and thorough care she received. I look forward to meeting you when we come in for her check up.

Fondly,
—Lorraine’s Family

 


Dear Dr. Schulman & Staff                                                           July 5th, 2011

Thank you so much for inquiring about the puppies. The girl that was delivered by you is alive and well, even at this age! Thank you for her. The second is a little tiny red and white boy, still all white, born at 5 ozs. now 7 ozs. And most of all, thank you for always being there for us. We are so grateful.
—Erich and Jane

 

Dear Dr. Schulman & Staff                                                           June 24th, 2011

Thank you all so much for over 13 years of amazing treatment. You always made Buddy feel better and treated him with such kindness and love. I always felt so at ease knowing he was in great hands. I am forever grateful for taking such great care to my love!

With Love,
—Buddy’s Family

 

 

Dear Dr. Schulman,                                                                    June 20th, 2011

Thank you to all the lovely ladies who took care of me when I had surgery. It was scary to be away from my mom but you made me feel safe. I am fetching so much better and can’t wait to get in the pool for my water therapy.

Thanks again for being so nice to me!
—Tucker, the Long-haired Dachshund

 

 

 

Dear Dr. Schulman,                                                                    June 15th 2011

I have to come in soon. I want to thank you for doing a great job with Sneaker. You hardly kept her in surgery…it was fast. You were so honest and you kept to your financial quote which is very rare in L.A. Thanks for being so great.

Anyway, in love and appreciation…you are very gifted.

Thank you!
—Sneaker’s Family

 


Dear Dr. Schulman,                                                                    June 15th 2011

Thank you for being there and for taking care of Mona over the past seven months. We and her litter-mate, Lisa miss her terribly. Thank you again for your care and kindness.
— Mona’s Family

 

 

All of You at Animal Medical Center,                                    June 14th 2011

The front desk, reception, the techs, the vets, the caretakers-all of you always demonstrate such care, consideration, compassion in such as genuine, professional level. I and my ... so beloved pets, as well as my clients thank you so very very much. It is reassuring knowing you’re there - as a team - for all of us.

With much gratitude, appreciation, and love,
—Dixie Mae, Bo Bo Bear, Chief, Jake, Kuma, Farmer, Mel etc.
(The Gancos Family)

 

Dear Dr.Schulman,                                                                      June 14th 2011

I want to extend a personal, very heart-felt thank you to you-whom of which I have such tremendous respect, admiration and gratitude. Thank you so very much for always taking such great care of all of my pets-and also my clients. They all mean the world to me and we are all so fortunate to have you and your remarkable staff. From the reception to the techs, to your other doctors, to the care takers-you are all such an incredible team.Again, I/we are forever grateful!!

Very truly, love, and appreciation,
—The entire gang of the Gancos Family

 


To the STAFF at Animal Medical Center,                                    June 8th 2011

We are especially lucky to have Dr. Schulman and grateful that he has as support for himself and for us; the best staff in the world. We always joke that if he could be our family doctor as well as our vet we would be most pleased.

We want to thank you so much for all you do in the care and nurturing of our pets in happy times and sad. We would especially like to thank every one of you for all you did for Barkley. Some of you we know by name and others by the kind faces but we appreciate each and every one of you. Thank you so much for your quick response when I brought Barkley in yesterday as a crisis patient.For having the file ready, the tissues, the water and the hugs.

Thank you Dr. Campbell for making it easier to say good-bye and doing it with such kindness and care. Thanks Keny for seeing us through all the stages of Barkley’s care up to the end . Thank you especially for letting us hold your little bottle baby. She was the best medicine and just what we needed to behold. Thank you for letting us pester everyone about Maxine.

A special thank you as well who got us started with fluids with Barkley. We know she is on maternity leave at the moment and we wish her all the best. Babies of all kinds make the world a better place and hopeful.

You will see us soon with ACE (He’s a bit lost today he’s missing his mentor lol) and Y2 for their regular checks ups and look forward to seeing you all again. Thanks also for your loving care for our grand puppy (Hollywood Vogel) our friends puppers and campers Lizzy Valko, Luchiano Heth, Chelsea Dorhout-Mees and Ella Raymond.


You are all very dear to us; sincerely,
— Barkley’s Family


Dear Dr. Schulman and Staff,
I wouldn’t know where to begin, if I even knew how to thank you.  You’ve given us so much help and time and care.

I don’t know what Braille and I would have done without Alan and his crew.  If it weren’t for all of you, I know we wouldn’t have made it through.  And that you all did ALL you did, and helped us so very much, and gave us so much of your time and heart, I just don’t know what to say.
I am humbled.
— Braille & Cal

 

Dear Dr. Schulman,
I just want to let you know that you have the most friendly and great staff.  I’ve been to some clinics and hospitals in the past and of course they have nice people as well, but there’s no comparison to your employees and that makes a lot of difference.  That’s why no matter how much we struggled; we still did our best to keep going back there simply because of the kind souls there.  Over the years that we were going there, we felt so connected to each individual, especially with your loyal group of people who have been there since the very first day of our visit.  That’s the reason why your clients keep coming back.  Thank you all once again.
— Ashley’s Family

 

Dear Everyone,
I’d like to thank each and every one of you for the wonderful card you sent me, especially for those who signed their names on it.  It was such a touchy card. It arouses my feelings and stirs me up for a moment then I endorsed it to Stitch.  I placed it right in front of Stitch’s pictures and I’m sure he is very happy about it.  I certainly appreciate your thoughtfulness.  It means a lot to me and to Stitch as well.  Stitch will miss going there, climbing up on your counter for his treat. 
He’s gone from sight but never in my memory, gone from hearing but never in my heart, gone from touch but his presence is felt. Our love together will never depart.
— Stitch and Ashley’s Family

 

Dr S. Stockton has been measurably calmer since you gave him whatever you gave him on Friday 4/15. I hope you made a note of what it was for for future reference. He has been much more even keel, has not been biting his feet and just seems noticeably better to me. So Thank you!!
— Stockton’s Family

I’m in awe of Dr. Schulman and the staff of the Animal Medical Center.  And I’m reminded of this every time I watch my kitten, Oliver, run, jump and play… a feat that was nowhere close to possible when I first adopted him.  Oliver was labeled “special needs” because his back legs were twisted backwards when he was born.  This translates to mean, he kind of flailed around like a fish because his back legs functioned more like triangular fins that he slapped on the ground rather than back legs and feet he could actually use.  I didn’t want him to live his life that way and knew he could he be helped, but no vet I talked to believed anything could be done.  Or even wanted to try.  Then l went to Dr. Schulman.

Everyone says Dr. Schulman is the best.  And now I know why.  When I talked to him, I felt not only that he cared about Oliver’s condition but also that he knew precisely what could be done and he was willing to try to do it.  He was also honest about the process—  that it would be slow and hard to gauge since Oliver’s legs had developed that way. Yet, he was generous with his time throughout and invested in every inch of Oliver’s progress. Remarkably, his staff was equally attentive.  And when I needed a bit more handholding and explanation about what was going on, they were kind enough to provide it.

8 weeks and some 10 plus bandage changes later, Oliver was freed from his last bandage.  And just 3 short weeks after that, he finally got to be a kitten in the true sense of the word.  Now he jumps and runs and climbs.  He can even scratch his head with this back leg!  It’s pretty much a miracle given where he started. It makes me happy every time I watch him.  I’m so immensely grateful to Dr. Schulman for all he’s done.  He changed Oliver’s life!
— Oliver’s Family

 


Good Morning,
My name is Lori and I am a volunteer with Southern California Labrador Retriever rescue.
I am writing this morning to say Thank You.  Unfortunately, I had to visit your office this past Sunday with a puppy from a litter I am fostering for SCLRR.  It was a horrible day, he was very sick.
Before I even headed out, I called and spoke to the ladies at the front desk.  They were incredible, asked lots of questions and were ready for the puppy and I when we walked through the door.  Once I got there, the puppy and I were very well taken care of.  All of the ladies were very helpful.  Then I met Dr. Campbell.  AlI can say is Thank You very much.  Clearly, this was a difficult time and Dr. Campbell took the time to help me understand my options and all that went with each of those options.
I would like to express my gratitude for all that you do for all of us and our pets.  In rescue, we see a lot of ugliness, that few understand.  Thank you for helping us through those times.
— Lori, Southern California Labrador Retriever Rescue


Dear Dr. Schulman:

I just want to reiterate how much we appreciate everything you are doing to ensure Lulu’s recovery.  We miss her so much, but believe it is in her best interest to stay with you until you give her a clean bill of health from her recent surgery and she’s safe to come home.  Do you ever get tired of hearing what an amazing person you are? I also want to compliment you on one of your employees.  She has been keeping us up to date on Lulu’s progress and is always so helpful and encouraging that I look forward to our conversations.  Her name is Heather Hughes and she is a real asset to your organization. Again, our profound thanks for taking such good care of her.  As I mentioned, we got her from Robin at Westside German Shepherd Rescue and the girls there are thrilled we brought her to you as is the staff at SCLRR who recommended you.
— Lulu’s family

 

Dear Dr. Schulman,
I thought I would take a moment and say thank you from the bottom of our hearts for saving our cat Charlie’s life.  When all of the other Veterinary Hospitals failed to diagnose Charlie’s problem you came through. The ear surgery you preformed on him to remove the Polyp was a success and it saved Charlie’s life. Thank you! Thank you! Please keep us informed of the article you are going to write about his condition, as we would deeply appreciate it.
— Charlie’s family

 

Dear Dr. Schulman,
I just wanted to inform you that on February 4th in Bali, I had made the decision with the local Vet in Bali to euthanize “Beijing”; my Bali Dog that you had kindly been treating with your cocktail of medications suggested a few years ago. He passed away peacefully. His health was deteriorating rapidly and perhaps due to his age (almost 14 years), the medication stopped having much effect and he lost most of his beautiful white fur and developed bone problems. I want to thank you for your kind help in treating Beijing from a distance Dr. Schulman. While never healed, due to your medication, his ailment was always controllable. Your clinic may now close his file which should be under “Beijing Vaz”. Thank you again Dr. Schulman.

\"beijing\"\

—Beijings’s family


Dear Dr. Schulman,
Thank you for giving us so much time with our lovely Louis by turning him into the bionic dog—we’ve lost track of how many surgeries he had!  He lived beyond all expectations, and we’re sure it’s partly because you love Goldens so much!  And, now, his brother Willie will carry on the torch!  We really appreciate your dedicated care to our family.Wishing you and yours a beautiful and joyous holiday.
— Louis’s family

Dr Gross,
Thank you so much for your time, advice, and kindness in treating my Mandy. It meant so much during a really difficult time. It was so nice of you to come in and say goodbye when the sad day came. Mandy was such a good girl and I’m Glad you got to know her. Thanks for everything you do to help the pets!
— Mandy’s family

 

Thank you so much for your care and compassion in Reptile Cat’s final days.
— Reptile Cat’s family

 

Dear Dr Heim,
Thank you so much for not just the care you gave to Sparkie but the loving care you gave to him and to me. He made my house a home for many years and I was very lucky to have him and you in my life.
— Sparkie’s family

 

Thank you all so much for the compassion and care. Winter meant so much to our family. We all appreciate everything that was done for her.
— Winter’s family

 

Dear Dr Heim
What can I say? Thank you for everything you did to help my Mandy. Your time, your expertise (and your husband) and most of all, your kindness.. It was a very difficult time and I’m so glad there are people like you in the work you do. Mandy’s “send off” from this world was made a little gentler for both of us (the candles!) Thank for everything you do to help the pups and kitties. I’m glad you got to meet my good girl.
— Mandy’s family

 

Dear Dr Schulman,
Thank you for all the assistance with the bills this week—greatly appreciated.
— Claude’s family

 

To the veterinarians and staff at Animal Medical Center,
Your animal center is the best one I have ever been to! In this season of thankfulness, I want to thank your friendly staff and knowledgable vets for helping my kittens, Charlotte and Charles. They are grateful for you, too! Happy holidays and best wishes for health and happiness in 2011!
mdash; Charlotte and Charles’s family

 

Dear Animal Medical Center,
I just want to thank you for everything you’ve done for my dog, Kan, yesterday. I felt so bad not being there with her, but I knew you would comfort her when she went to sleep. As I told you, I’m on a business trip and I will be back in LA __, so I’ll pick up Kan’s ashes then. Again, thank you so much for your support and honesty for my dog’s condition. I really appreciated it.
— Kan’s family

 

Dear Dr Schulman,
Today is a day to reflect on those we give thanks for.. you immediately come to mind. Thank you for your kind expression of sympathy. Gene and I Can’t begin to tell you how much your words meant to us. It has taken me a while to write you because we have been in deep grief and shocked to the core. I am just now starting to gain my composure although I cry every day for my boy.

I hate the expression “have to put him down.” It was not Giancarlo that was put down, it was us! It is something like a miscarriage..what could of been..what if? One could never be prepared for such a void. The only presence is the absence. Some dogs come into the world for obedience—just like people—to learn lessons. Giancarlo came to love and be loved and that he was. The moral of the story is the only thing we take with us when we go is love.

Drew, William, and Dr Tanaka were present for the eulogy which I will share with you when I can emotionally revisit it…it was simply beautiful. There is nothing like the opportunity to tell someone what they meant to you and how you felt about them before the spirit takes flight. It is hard to lose things, harder to lose what we love. Sometimes it is only in loss that we realize what we’ve had, the greatness of the gift, and how much it has contributed to our life. Dr. Schulman we are grateful indeed for your colossal contribution to Giancarlo’s care for the last three years.

We have a shrine of ashes, flowers, and photos to honor him. You are welcome to visit our home anytime—possibly during Hanukkah to toast Giancarlo. He was very perceptive…I feel he was once a human reincarnated as a dog. He knew your place in his life. What a remarkable combination the pair of you were.
— Giancarlo’s family

 

Doctors Tanaka, Heim, Gross, and Schulman,
We would like to express our appreciation for the love and cae you provided to Bleu over the years. Each one of you had helped Bleu at different times in his life with the various challenges he faced. Thank you for your dedication and compassion in making Bleu’s life better.
— Bleu’s family

 

Joan and I can not thank you enough for saving our Sally. Dr Tanaka and the whole staff went above and beyond!
— Sally’s family

 

Hi Dr Cola,
Since Indy’s gall bladder surgery back in August, I just wanted to share that he is healthier, happier and better than ever! He’s friendlier and really seems to be feeling better than he ever has! As you can see from the attached pics, he’s back to hunting, and brings us more
“presents” than ever!! So thank you thank you thank you!! My sweet beautiful kitty is better than ever thanks to you and the team at Animal Med Center! Thanks!
— Indy’s family

 

“Dear Dr Schulman,
I just wanted to tell you how lucky I am to have found you to take care of Ryuta for me. Ryuta is getting strong each day and I am sure he is going to be all right. Thank you very much for all you have done for him. Just because of who you are, I have decided to have you as a primary doctor for all of my dogs from now on. Including Ryuta, you are going to have four more new patients. Finally, I found a doctor who I can trust and rely on and that makes my dogs and myself very happy.”
— Ryuta’s family

 

“I thought I would take a moment and say thank you from the bottom of or hearts for saving our cat Charlie’s life.  When all of the other Veterinary Hospitals failed to diagnose Charlie’s problem you came through. The ear surgery you preformed on him to remove the Polyp was a success and it saved Charlie’s life. Thank you! Thank you! Please keep us informed of the article you are going to write about his condition, as we would deeply appreciate it.”
—Charlie’s family

 

“Missy and I no longer live in CA, so that is why she may have out of date records. Thank you for letting me know, but please cancel any appointments we may have scheduled with you. Also, thank you for the service you provided Missy while she was in CA, you saved her life and I am eternally grateful for the excellent care Missy was given.  You have a fantastic team of doctors and staff!”
—Missy’s family

 


“Dear Dr. Gross, Thank you so much for doing such an amazing job on Davey’s surgery. You removed a tumor from his face a few weeks ago. You saved his life and left him even more beautiful than he was before.  I’ve attached a photo of him all healed up so you can see what a great job you did. He barely has a scar. He is doing great and we will be forever grateful for your care.”
—Davey’s family

 

“I know that I expressed my gratitude and personal feelings to you when we brought Marley in the other day, but I just wanted to let you know again in the “sweetest way” the words were most heartfelt.

It is not only that you are a person of such merit and expertise, but all of that just filters down from the top to each assistant and caregiver right over to the people at the front desk.

As a business owner, I strive to be the best that I can be each and every day and to inspire my own employees to do and be the same. Each day I hope we hit the mark, and I can say with all certainty that you and your team are way above the bar.

Let your staff know how much we value and appreciate each and every one of you.”
—Marley’s family

 

“Dear Dr. Heim,
Thanks for diagnosing and treating Hazel (black pug).  Just want you to know that she is responding beautifully to treatment.  Clearly, she had been quite uncomfortable.  She is obviously comfortable as she has been sleeping a lot and not scratching her nose.  It was a pleasure meeting you. See you soon…”
—Hazel’s family

 

“Good news on Titan. We just got his blood and urine retested after almost 7 months, and the BUN/Creatinine and the protein/creatinine ratios were normal, with the only sign of lingering damage being that his urine was slightly dilute. So, our strong little dog appears to have weathered the Lepto with only minor permanent damage. He loves the early stage kidney food, so we’re just going to keep him on it. His energy, health, and appetite all seem perfectly normal. Thanks so much for all the info and input as we were sorting this out with the vet(s) here in Texas. One of them didn’t like me asking so many questions and not just accepting a rather expensive bunch of tests that they were insisting on. Needless to say, they are no longer our vet! Thanks as always for your help. We still haven’t found a vet here in Austin that we are really comfortable with, but then you’re a hard act to follow.”
—Titan’s family

 

“Dear Dr. Tanaka,
Thank you for taking such great care of Momo. He has made a remarkable recovery and we are grateful to you for saving him. Sorry for freaking out in your office, I was just very scared. Keep up the great work. You are appreciated.”
— Momo’s family

 

“Happily I write you to report that in seven days since the surgery Giancarlo has rebounded! He is a true champion—his badge of courage, (incision site) as I call it, is healing beautifully. He has full appetite ... 2 full meals and antioxidant fruit daily and drinking lots of water. He is walking straight, hoisting himself up without a problem, running up and the down the halls waiting for his treats. His face is bright and his spirit and energy level is astonishing. None of the above would be possible without your wondrous skill as a surgeon—as in a league of your own! I also believe that no other surgeon could have taken Giancarlo to the place he is right now based on his diagnosis.  Dr. Schulman you have perfected your gift. You do your clients and patients proud and let us not forget to mention that you do the Bronx proud! See you soon when you will witness Giancarlo restored once again which has brought a great deal of joy to our home.”
— Giancarlo’s family

 

“We can not thank you enough for saving our Sally. Dr Tanaka and the whole staff went above and beyond!”
— Sally’s family

 

“Just a quick not to say “Thank you” for looking at my dog’s xrays from Texas Vet. I really appreciated your expertise in this matter. Your opinion and recommended treatment was valuable. Thanks again.”
— Client

 

“Dear Dr Schulman and AMC staff, Thank you, one and all, for taking care of Casey and for all the many kindnesses each of you provided (us) during these past four month.”
— Casey’s family

 

“Dear Dr. Schulman,

I didn’t get a chance to see you before we left Los Angeles. I just wanted to sincerely thank you along with Dr. Heim and Dr. Cola. As you know, putting Isabel down was an extremely difficult decision. Having said that, the support, care and knowledge from you and your staff gave us the security needed to make such a difficult decision. You are a true blessing and I continually thank the powers that be who put you in our lives.

I would also like to acknowledge both Dr. Heim and Dr. Cola, as they were very attentive and efficient and truly cared for Isabel’s best interest. I found it amazing that Dr. Heim who went through such a similar situation to Isabel was the one to lay her down to rest. There was a silent calmness and understanding when discussing Isabel’s situation. Can you please tell them both my family is grateful for their efforts.

Thank you for being such a kind and dedicated doctor. You are the best gift we could’ve given Isabel.”
— Isabel’s family

 


Dear Dr. Heim:

Lucky is energetic, eating with great enthusiasm and , heaven knows, he sure
smells a lot better. What a great call you made! You hoped that the source of
his appetite loss was due to periodontal disease, and you sure got that exactly
right!!

It was amazing that he led me into the kitchen this AM and “asked” to be fed. A
nice egg white scramble, with rice and cottage cheese was a 4* meal for him. 
Happy dog. Happy us.

Thanks so much and thanks again, to Leisel for her help. As always, we adore Dr.
Schulman and especially, since he had the very good sense to hire you.

Thank you for being such a kind and dedicated doctor. You are the best gift we could’ve given Isabel.”
— Lucky’s family

 


“Thank you so much for the wonderful job you and staff did on my Charlie’s ear. He is my Charlie boy again. Keep on reepin on!”
—Charlie’s family

 

“Just a quick note to say ‘Thank you’ so very much for your thoughtful consideration of my little Lu Lu’s medical problems! I will let you know how she progresses along in time. I look forward to meeting you someday soon!”
—Lu Lu’s family

 

“We wanted to thank you for all of your efforts and compassion during our sweet boxer, Cassie’s, bout with cancer. We miss her terribly! In the same week that we put her to sleep, we welcomed our second child in to the world. What a week that was!! You and your staff were wonderful and made a difficult time more manageable. Thank you, again, for everything. We wish you all the best.”
—Cassie’s family

 

“On behalf of Lucy Rose, me and ALL the people that love her, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for bringing her back to the sweet angel she is. You were all instrumental in helping her over the holidays and it was touch and go after I got her home, but all of you were patient with me when I was calling all the time asking so many questions. Lucy Rose is doing very well and being blind and limp has not deterred her spirit! She is happy and doing great. She is my angel and my light. Thank you.
—Lucy Rose’s family

 

“I just wanted to say thank you for being so wonderful and caring. I have been wanting to move but I don’t know how I will find a place where both the vet and staff are so wonderful. Thank you for helping me through a truly difficult time. Dr. S, thank you so much for letting Bennie come here. I have NO words for how much easier and peaceful you made things. Thank you for your professionalism and caring and making my cats feel comfortable. You go above and beyond as always. Thank you entire staff for your kindness.”
—Dusty, Millie, Molly, and Tiny’s family

 

“…Wanted to thank you for your advice and honesty regarding Henry’s post-TPLO condition. You could have sold me a bill of goods, but you didn’t. You have restored my faith in your profession—after months of heartache and disappointment elsewhere. Merci!”
—Henry’s family

 

“I would like to say thank you for all the support you have given to me with all that has been going on with Bean. Also for your extreme generosity when we were at your office last week. =) Little Bean is doing really well and I am truly grateful for all you have done for her + more importantly for providing me with all the information I have need to be there for her. I’m truly grateful + touched!”
—Bean’s family

 

“Thank you for what seems to be your limitless kindness. Your love of and care for animals so evident in your manner, is equaled only by your kindness to their companions. I was so very grateful for the after-hours time you spent with me and Wolfgang. I felt calm when I thought I would never be and believe that the decision to put Wolfgang down was the correct decision to make. Thank you for that. I also want to tell you, since I never have, that the medical care you provide to my dogs has been the finest care that I have experienced. You are a most skilled and trusted physician, and have become a trusted friend as well.”
—Wolfgang’s family

 

“Thank you for being so thoughtful and following up on Pal’s condition. Now that his stitches have been removed, he’s doing wonderfully well, and we are all pleased!”
—Pal’s family

 

“Thank you for saving my life and removing my cell mast tumor so I can keep my mammy happy.”
—Pet Jico

 

“Dear Dr. Heim, Lily and I arrived home safe and sound on Saturday evening. It was a very uneventful travel day, which was wonderful! She has her new vet appointment today at 2:00 to continue with her treatment and care. I had to write a note to let you know how happy I am to have her back and on the mend. You and your staff did an amazing job with her and I will always be grateful. Thank you for your amazing talent and had work in helping her pull through. I look forward to future contact with you and the Animal Medical Center—you guys rock!”
—Lily’s family

 

“On behalf of the entire cast and crew we would like to thank you for your support of the feature film ‘Greenberg.’ As you are all well aware, filming is an integral component of the Southern California economy. Opening your businesses, homes and neighborhoods to filming is essential in order to keep the Motion Picture Industry alive in Los Angeles. We are extremely grateful for allowing us to share with you the marking of ‘Greenberg.’ We look forward to working with you in the future.”
—Harlan Films, “Greenberg”

 

“Sixteen years ago, your classmate and friend from Cornell, Charlie Schwirk, told me you were the best vet and that was good enough for me. Throughout the years you saw Cleopatra go through so many medical problems, starting as a puppy, but you never gave up on her. Your enormous dedication to what you do kept her alive for over sixteen years. There are no words that can express the loving devotion and care you have for each and every animal that you treat and the support you gave me to make it through all those tough ties to keep the most precious thing in my life alive for as long as you did. You gave me the motivation to never give up on her and I am so sorry that you were not there for her final day. I know in my heart that had you not been her vet she would have never lived as long as she did and for that I am forever grateful. There are no words that are strong enough to thank you from the bottom of my heart for all the valiant efforts you made to keep her alive until it was no longer possible. I am also so grateful for their caring support during the past month and to all the technicians who took care of her on those days she spent with you.” —Cleopatra’s family

 

“I am sure that you receive thank you notes all of the time, but I rarely if ever sit down to actually write one, so I want you to know just how much I appreciate the job you did with getting Baxter back to me safe and healthy. No words can express the gratitude I have to you and the entire staff, you were compassionate, caring, and available to me 24 hours a day for 4 straight days and I cannot thank you enough. I will recommend you to all of my friends with animals, honestly after the job you did this week I wouldn’t even consider ever bringing Bax anywhere else, despite the fact that there are a ton of vet offices much closer to my house. From the bottom of my heart, all I can say is thank you.”
—Baxter’s family

 

“The purpose of this letter is to thank you for the integrity and excellence you and your staff demonstrated in treating my Yorkshire Terrier, Habibti. The surgical excellence is probably expected of your hospital. But the stunning thing to me was the integrity you practice is most extraordinary. In giving me an estimate, your staff said that my dog’s operation would be $3,600. When I came to pay the bill, the operation cost $2,700. The difference was that your fee as the surgeon went down just about $1,000. I would not have known the difference and when I brought it up to you, you said ‘well that was the right thing to do.’ Apparently the surgery was not as complex as originally expected. Nonetheless, the absolute integrity practiced by you is not pervasive in this world. So I wanted to take time and thank you again.
—Habibti’s family

 

“I’m writing to let you know how thankful I am that Piper & I had Dr Erica Heim on our last visit. We’ve been coming to your med center for years & have always had good care. However, I just wanted you to know that we’ll be sure that we always see her in the future. She was very professional, knowledgeable, & thorough. She even came out to the waiting room to give me more info that she’d thought of & to reassure me we had plenty of options left re: pain management for my again lab. She’s a great employee and ambassador for your clinic. I hope she stays awhile.”
—Piper’s family

 

“It is Ripley’s owner. I suppose you know by now that yesterday we came in and put Ripley down. I was and still am devastated. But your staff was wonderful and very kind to me and my parents. I hope your staff told you that I had wanted it to be you to put Ripley to sleep. It would have meant a lot, but the dog just seems to be becoming too uncomfortable and we did not think it right to wait any longer.

You probably do not remember that I adopted Ripley in 1996 from YOUR office (the old location) where you were allowing a small rescue (which I think was run by a woman named Debbie or Lori Meyer?) to operate and show dogs on the weekends. Well, I am so happy that, at the very least, Ripley’s life with me started and ended in your office.

So you know, Ripley (who was somewhere between 14 ½ and 15) took a turn for the worst this week. He stopped eating and simply was not responding well to the meds that the dermo provided (they made him quite sick). Meanwhile, his skin continued to worsen and disintegrate and even started draining. My father also thinks the infection may have gotten into his throat and maybe his blood stream given the way he was breathing, vomiting, and acting. He also lost way too much weight in the last few weeks, was very lethargic, really would not move much, and just lied there staring out the window for the last few days. I’m sure you are very familiar with this process. So my dad and I decided it was time.

Anyway, I wanted to send you a personal note to thank you so much for the 13 plus years you gave to Ripley and me. It meant more to me than you know. You were always honest with me (and talked me out of many many very expensive procedures I asked about) and always helped Ripley out of whatever issue he was dealing with (which, thank god, was never too bad until the last 6 months). Again you have no idea how important your help and advice was to me and my family.

I know you have tons of patients, and are extremely busy. But your attention to my boy and my family (when I was unable to make appointments) was and always will be cherished by my family Your returning of my calls, or of having someone at your office return them for you when you were unable, was invaluable.

 

As you may also recall, I recently adopted a new dog, Ginger. Needless to say, we will continue to bring her to you for her vet needs. I would have it no other way. If there is anything I can ever do for you, please do not hesitate to call me.”
—Ripley’s family

“I want to take time to memorialize my gratitude to you, and your staff, for the help you gave me with my cat, Blue. One needs to acknowledge that there are many good people in this world. Thursday I put Blue to sleep, one of the hardest things that I have ever done. I could not have gone through with it without all of your help, and I would like to thank everyone once again.

Blue was my cat for many years. She came to me on her own one day, as cats often do, and stayed with me until her end. She was my only companion, all the rest of my family are dead. She always ran to greet me when I came home, and I always looked forward to seeing her. She gave me her unconditional love. She had the loudest purr of any cat that I have ever known. If I just touched her, she purred. She was my support, my friend, and my soul mate. When she passed, she did so with a dignity, grace, and clam that were truly remarkable. I can only hope that when my time comes to leave this world that I may come close to her example.

I have that you had some serious misgivings about allowing me to be present when the needle was inserted because it is very easy to miss a vein and often numerous attempts are required. Animals can become frightened and struggle, and to have an owner present can be an additional burden and very distracting for a staff that is already having a difficult time. I also know that you wanted to spare me the experience of seeing my cat in yet more pain and desperation. It was not demanding or arbitrary that I asked to be present. It was because I had promised Blue that I would not leave her side when her time had come, and while you may feel that a cat would not understand my promise, I can tell you that through my experiences with Miranda, an incredible animal communicator, I know differently. It was because I love Blue so much and had given her my world that I asked to be present; and again, I thank you for, despite your expressed misgivings, allowing me that comfort. I will always remember that kindness, Dr. Schulman.

Here, I want to express my heartfelt gratitude to those wonderful people who did the work. Unfortunately, because of my state of mind at the time, I failed to get the names of either the technician who did the actual insertion or the lady who helped him, but no praise is sufficient to express the perfection of their work. The insertion was clean, accurate, and flawless. It would have been impossible to do it better under any circumstances. I also need to say just how proud I am of Blue! She never made a sound nor even flinched when the needle was inserted in her paw. I am not capable of such poise; she was truly a remarkable cat. I especially would like to thank the lady who stayed to comfort me at that moment when my world fell apart and my heart broke. Seeing the lifeless form of my friend was more than I could bear, and I was totally consumed with grief. She stayed to assist me and comfort me. She did not have to do that, but it came from her heart. That experience I will never forget.

Over the years, I had taken Blue to your organization for the treatment of her condition. Because of the illness, she was unable to keep herself clean, although she tried constantly to do so. I could see how troubled she was to be so dirty, so I took her to be bathed there dozens of times. Sometimes she would come in absolutely filthy and smelling very badly. All who bathed her were excellent, but I would like to single out Marcella, the wonderful lady who almost always attended her. Because of her gentle manner and kind ways, Blue tolerated being bathed and always returned to me clean, brushed, and smelling fresh once again. I owe Marcella a great debt of gratitude for that help.

You have assembled a staff of the highest caliber and I thank and salute them all. My God bless all of you and all that you did for my friend, my love and truly half my life, Blue.”
—Blue’s family

 

“I would like to begin this email by saying that while I am certain you have patients who drive farther than I do to bring their pets for your unsurpassed expert diagnosis and treatment, I am also certain that there are none that appreciate you more than I do. I will always be grateful for the nurse in Dr. Limehouse’s office who whispered your name to me one day, saying you were brilliant and that many of their patients had gone over to you. After being told that my kitty Nurkie was on his deathbed- and indeed he had quit eating and quite moving around, etc- I am convinced that it is your medical advice and care that gave Nurkie at least another year of not just life, but quality life.

I have been bringing my pets to you for 17 years and for 16 of those, I have been driving from the West San Fernando Valley. I do not like to drive at all, let alone over 20 miles with an animal in my car. I worry about my animals and of course there is risk involved for the animal were I to be involved in a collision. Over the past 10 years or so, my aversion to driving has become almost intolerable at times. I wish there were someone close to home whom I could trust to care for my pets. There are lots of doctors: bad doctors, mediocre doctors, good doctors, and very good doctors. Then there’s you. You are in a league by yourself.

I am telling you this for the purpose of letting you know just how much I value your medical advice. YOUR medical advice. Not someone else’s. You are truly gifted and I am convinced that in terms of knowledge, brilliance, diagnostic ability, and insight, you are one in a million-no exaggeration- and because my pets are my family and I am dedicated to caring for them as if they were my children, I want the very best doctor for those animals that can be found. If I was willing to see another veterinarian besides you, I wouldn’t drive to your office in West LA, but I would go to someone here in the valley. In any case, Dr. Schulman, thank you for reading this. And thank you for caring for my pets.”
—Nurkie’s family

Accreditations, Awards, and Certificates

Featured Doctor

Make an Appointment / Pet Portal

Manage your pet's health care, make an appointment, and view medication schedules. + Learn More

About Animal Medical Center

The Animal Medical Center of Southern California is devoted to providing the best medical, surgicalm and emergency critical care available in veterinary medicine. As important as our medical expertise is, we believe that excellent care combines state-of-the-art veterinary medicine and surgery with a focus on compassion and respect for your pet and for your family.

Pet Library: TOXOPLASMOSIS AND PREGNANCY

Toxoplasmosis is an infection caused by the protozoan parasite Toxoplasma gondii that can threaten the health of an unborn child if a woman becomes infected with Toxoplasma for the first time while she is pregnant.

+ Learn More